Results 2011

Almost 60 anglers took part in the 55th Westport International Sea Angling Festival Shore and Boat Competition. Anglers from Ireland, England, Scotland, Wales and The Netherlands took part once again this year and although the weather conditions were poor, with wind and heavy rain being a main feature of the week, the anglers thoroughly enjoyed the event once again. 
Almost 2000 fish were recorded and returned alive to the sea over the course of the event and species included Dogfish, Bullhuss, Ray and Gurnard.

Shore Competition1st, Kenneth Canning, Ireland, 105 pts, 24 fish
2nd, Kieran Foley, Ireland, 102 pts, 23 fish
3rd, Steve Quinn, England, 84 pts, 20 fish
Overall1st, David McDermott, Ireland
2nd, Jim Pressley, England
3rd, Tom McDermott, Ireland
3rd, Damion Gannon, Ireland
Ladies Champion1st, Margaret Lewis, Scotland
2nd, Margaret Sweeney, Ireland
Junior under 121st, Oisin Gannon, Ireland
2nd, Sam Lewis, Scorland
Junior Champion1st, Kevin Mortimer, Ireland
2nd, Jack Dallow, England
3rd, Kevin Gannon, Ireland
4th, Tomas Kelly, Ireland
5th, Darragh Connolly, Ireland
6th, Liam Gavin, Ireland
7th, Matthew Fearson, Ireland
Overseas1st, Steve Quinn, England
2nd, Ian Moore, England
3rd, Dave Williamson, England
Team of Two (after elimination)1st, Gerry Boiling (Ireland), David McDermott (Ireland)
2nd, Jim Pressley (England), Pieter Rietveld Sr. (The Netherlands)
3rd, Sid Whelan (England), Damien Gannon (Ireland)
4th, Gordon Jones (England), Colin Smith (England)
Team of Four1st, Steve Quinn, Ian Moore, Jim Pressley, Tommy Dunn
2nd, Padraig Ketterick, Colin Loftus, Jeff Moran, Dave Fearson
3rd, Andy Pamley, Richard "Fishy" Lowe, Alan Suddick, Tony
Daily Prizes:
1st, Jim Pressley, England, 153 pts
2nd, Ian Moore, England, 151 pts
3rd, Steve Morris, England, 114 pts
3rd, Sean Ketterick, Ireland, 114 pts
Daily Prizes:
1st, David McDermott, Ireland, 177 pts
2nd, Tom McDermott, Ireland, 159 pts
3rd, Damien Gannon, Ireland, 150 pts
Daily Prizes:
1st, Steve Quinn, England, 120 pts
2nd, Jim Pressley, England, 111 pts
3rd, David McDermott, Ireland, 102 pts
Individual Fish Awards:Gurnard, Chris Holmes, England
Ray, Ronny Lewis (Scotland) & Mac McCarthy (England) & Pieter Rietveld Jr. (The Netherlands) & Phil Golden (England)
Huss, John Flynn (Ireland) & Barry Kortekaas (The Netherlands)
Champion BoatmanJoe Gibbon, "The Finnaun"