Results 2012

This year, once again almost 50 anglers took part in the 56th Westport Sea Angling Festival Shore and Boat Competition. Weather conditions were poor with wind and rain on Friday and Saturday but a big improvement on Sunday with bright sunshine. 2,633 fish were recorded and returned alive to the sea – Species included Dogfish, Bull Huss, Ray, Tub Gurnard, Blonde Ray and Bearded Rockling. 109 fish were recorded in the Shore Competition, fished off Inishgort Lighthouse.

The organisers and anglers wish to remember a dear angling friend Danny Chisholm, England who passed away during the year, also remembering another dear friend, Patsy Ketterick who is dearly missed by everyone.

The Westport Sea Angling Club want to sincerely thank the following:
Harry and Deirdre Hughes, Portwest, without whose sponsorship we would not survive. Kevin Joyce and staff at ‘The Asgard’ for taking care of the anglers each evening. Hotel Westport for their help. Cllr. Christy Hyland (Cathaoirleach) for his attendance at the Prize presentation. The Boatmen for all their dedication and hard work and finally to each and every angler for taking part in this event. We are very grateful for your continued support.

Shore Competition1st - Steve Quinn, England - 41 fish, 171pts
2nd - Ray McLaughlin, Galway - 25 fish, 108pts
3rd - Kenneth Canning, Westport - 15 fish, 69pts
Overall1st - Steve Quinn, England - 504pts
2nd - Darragh Connolly, Westport - 426pts
3rd - David Ferson, Westport - 387pts
Ladies ChampionMargaret Sweeney, Achill
Junior Champion1st - Darragh Connolly - 426pts
2nd - Tomás Kelly - 219pts
3rd - Kevin Gannon - 219pts
4th - Liam Gavin - 218pts
5th - Oisín Gannon - 216pts
6th - Matthew & Andrew Ferson
Overseas1st - Alan Reid, Wales - 384pts
2nd - Tommy Dunn, England - 363pts
3rd - Ian Moore, England - 354pts
Team of Two 1st - David McDermott, Mullingar & Pieter Rietveld (j.), Netherlands
2nd - Damien Gannon, Westport & Tony Clisset, England
3rd - Tom McDermott, Mullingar & Peter Rietveld (s.), Netherlands
Team of Four1st - England - Steve Quinn, Allan Suddick, Ian Moore, Richard Lowe
2nd - Wales - Alan Reid, Gwyn Andrews, Garry Jones, Wyn Parry
3rd - Ireland - Padraic Ketterick, Colin Loftus, David Ferson, Jeff Moran
Daily Prizes:
1st - Tommy Dunn, England - 189pts
2nd - David Ferson, Westport - 171pts
3rd - Ian Moore, England - 168pts
Daily Prizes:
1st - Steve Quinn, England - 222pts
2nd - Gary Jones, Wales - 129pts
3rd - David McDermott, Mullingar - 123pts
Daily Prizes:
1st - David McDermott, Mullingar - 189pts
2nd - Darragh Connolly, Westport - 180pts
3rd - Alan Reid, Wales - 180pts
Individual Fish Awards:Tub Gurnard - Alan Reid
Blonde Ray - Oisín Gannon
Ray -Thomas Moran / Allan Suddick
Huss - Tony Clisset
Champion BoatmanTom Moran - 'The Restorick'