Results 2013

The 57th Westport Sea Angling Festival Gathering took place over 4 days from June 19th to june 23rd. 

The event commenced with a shore competition on Wednesday June 19th where 10 anglers took part and recorded a total catch of 61 fish which included Dogfish, Ray, Huss and a Gurnard. The three day boat event took place on Friday, Saturday and Sunday June 21/22/23, with almost 50 anglers participating each day.

Weather Conditions were very poor with Friday being the best of the three days. A total of 1529 fish were recorded which included Dogfish, Ray, Huss and Tub Gurnard.

The Prize Presentation took place in Hotel Westport on Sunday Night June 23rd, with Cllr. Ollie Gannon (Cathaoirleach) Westport Town Council and Harry and Deirdre Hughes Portwest (Main Sponsor) presenting prizes.

The Westport Sea Angling Club want to sincerely thank the following:
Harry and Deirdre Hughes, Portwest, without whose sponsorship we would not survive. Kevin Joyce and staff at ‘The Asgard’ for taking care of the anglers each evening. Hotel Westport for their help. Cllr. Ollie Gannon (Cathaoirleach) for his attendance at the Prize presentation, Jack Dylan Jewellers and The Mayo News. The Boatmen for all their dedication, hard work and continued support. Finally the anglers for their continued support and encouragement and without whose unwavering support makes it possible for us to remain the longest running Sea Angling Festival in Europe.
We are very grateful for your continued support.

Shore Competition1st - Steve Quinn, England - 21 fish
2nd - Francie Gannon, Westport - 9 fish
3rd - Kenneth (Coinin) Canning, Westport - 12 fish
Overall1st - Steve Quinn, England
2nd - David Ferson, Westport
3rd - Pieter Rietveld Sr, Netherlands
Ladies Champion1st - Margaret Sweeney, Achill
Junior Champion1st - Kevin Mortimer, Westport
2nd - Kevin Gannon, Westport
3rd - Oisin Gannon, Westport
4th - Liam Gavin, Westport
Overseas1st - Wyn Parry, Wales
2nd - Gary Jones, England
3rd - Ian Moore, Wales
Team of Two 1st - Darragh Connolly, Westport & Padraig (Scoby) Ketterick, Westport
2nd - Stan, Wales & Alan, Wales
3rd - Colin Loftus, Westport & Jeff Moran, Westport
Team of Four1st - Wales - Wyn Parry, Gary Jones, Gwyn Andrews, Glyn Hughes
2nd - England - Andy Pamley, Steve Quinn, Tommy Dunn, Ian Moore
3rd - Netherlands - Pieter Rietveld Sr, Pieter Rietveld Jr, Jan van de Merbel, Rob Verschuren
Daily Prizes:
1st - Gary Jones, Wales
2nd - David Ferson, Westport
3rd - Pieter Rietveld Sr, Netherlands
Daily Prizes:
1st - Steve Quinn, England
2nd - Glyn Hughes, Wales
3rd - John Cronin, Cork - Wyn Parry, Wales - Ian Moore, England
Daily Prizes:
1st - Wyn Parry, Wales
2nd - Richard Lowe, England - Pieter Rietveld Sr, Netherlands
3rd - Allan Suddick, England
Individual Fish Awards:Tub Gurnard - Paul Ruddy
Ray - Ian Moore
Huss -Thomas Moran,John Flynn
Champion Boatman1st - Reg Roynane - 'Lady Helen'
2nd - Darragh McGee & Steve Rixon - 'Whitewater 2'