Results 2015

The 59th Westport Sea Angling Festival took place from 17th June to 21st June 2015. Over 40 anglers participated each day with good fishing recorded. Varieties included Dogfish, Huss, Ray, Dab, Spurdog and Conger (1547 fish recorded). Weather conditions were fair with sun, rain and wind.

This year’s Shore Competition took place at Rosmoney with 5 anglers taking part. 11 fish were recorded (Dogfish, Huss and Ray).

Westport Sea Angling Club would like to thank all of the participating anglers. The Boatmen and crews for their continued loyalty and support. Martin and John at ‘The Quays’ for taking care of the anglers each evening on their return. The presentation of prizes took place in Hotel Westport and we sincerely thank Cllr. Brendan Mulroy for his attendance and for presenting the prizes; Harry and Deirdre Hughes ‘Portwest’ for their continued support and loyalty.

The results of the 59th competition are:

Shore Competition1st - Michael O'Sullivan - 5 fish - 45pts
2nd - Paul Ruddy - 3 fish - 36pts
Overall Champion (over 3 days)1st - Wynne Perry, Wales - 339 pts
2nd - Padraic Ketterick, Westport - 253 pts
3rd - Damien Gannon, Westport - 213 pts
Overseas Champion (over 3 days)1st - Pieter Rietveld Snr, Netherlands - 297 pts
2nd - Richard (Fishy) Lowe, England - 264 pts
3rd - C.V. McCarthy (Mac), England - 248 pts
Ladies ChampionMargaret Sweeney, Achill - 213 pts
Junior Champion (over 3 days)1st - Kale Thomas, Wales - 177 pts
2nd - Oisín Gannon, Westport - 111 pts
Team of Four Champions1st - Wales - Wynne Parry, Gary Jones, Gwenie Andrews, Margaret Sweeney
2nd - England - Andy Pamley, Ian moore, Richard Lowe, Frank Collier
3rd - Ireland - Paul Ruddy, Darragh Connolly, Damien Gannon, Jonathan McGrath
Team of Two (after elimination)1st - Tommy Dunn & Steve Morris, England
2nd - Darragh Connolly & Jonathan McGrath, Ireland
3rd - Tony Sykes & Tony Clisset, England
Local Team of TwoTomas Moran & Gerry Boiling, Westport
Daily Prizes:
1st - Wynne Parry, Wales - 129 pts
2nd - Pieter Rietveld Snr, Netherlands - 105 pts
3rd - C.V. McCarthy, England - 102 pts
3rd - Margaret Sweeney, Achill - 102 pts
Daily Prizes:
1st - Damien Gannon, Westport - 150 pts
2nd - Darragh Connolly, Westport - 123 pts
3rd - Wynne Parry, Wales - 111 pts
Daily Prizes:
1st - Pieter Rietveld Snr, Netherlands - 135 pts
2nd - Padraic Ketterick, Westport - 120 pts
3rd - Richard (Fishy) Lowe, England - 108 pts
Individual Fish Awards:Bull Huss - Kevin Gannon, Westport
Ray - Allan Suddick (Rigger), England
Dab - Allan Suddick (Rigger), England
Spurdog - Dave Bennett, England
Conger - Pieter Rietveld Snr, Netherlands
Dogfish - John Flynn (Congor), Ireland
John Foy Memorial AwardSpecies Prize - Liam Gavin
Champion BoatmanReg Roynane - Lady Helen