Results 2019

63rd Westport Sea Angling Festival

Clew Bay once again played host to Ireland’s longest running Sea Angling Competition – The 63rd Westport Sea Angling Festival.

Anglers travelled from both England and Wales as well as various parts of Ireland and enjoyed excellent fishing recording over seven different varieties of fish in the Inner Bay with a noticeable increase in Bull Huss and Ray which looks promising for future angling events. Total number of fish recorded 1699.

Weather conditions were generally good both Friday and Saturday with little wind and rain and even some sunshine! Sunday was a much cloudier day with heavy showers and wind but it did not deter our determined anglers.

A most enjoyable weekend was had by all which was completed by a Prize giving Ceremony in Hotel Westport, where the Chairman of Mayo County Council Cllr. Brendan Mulroy welcomed all of our visiting anglers and praised them for their dedication and continued support for this most wonderful event. Prizes were presented by Cllr. Mulroy.

A minute’s silence was observed in memory of one of our dearest young angling friends Kale Thomas who sadly passed away in December 2018.

Kale will be remembered fondly by all of us who had the pleasure to meet him. He was a kind, gentle, sensitive soul who we will always be proud to remember.
May his gentle soul rest in peace.

Our sponsors continue to show us huge support which ensures this most wonderful festival will continue long into the future. We take this opportunity to thank most sincerely Harry and Deirdre Hughes for their unwavering support. The Harbour Mill Apts., Jack Dylan Jewellers, Kevin and staff at the Quay’s Pub and local councillor Brendan Mulroy for their continued support.

Shore Competition - John Foy Memorial1. David Ferson - Westport 36 points
2. Richard Lowe - England 33 points
3. Tommy Dunn - England 12 points
Overall Champion (over 3 days)1. Darragh Connolly - Westport
2. Tommy Dunn - England
3. Padraic Ketterick - Westport
Overseas Champion (over 3 days)1. Wynne Parry - Wales
2. Tony Clissett -England
3. Gary Jones - Wales
Ladies Champion (over 3 days)1. Irene Walsh - Westport 192 points
Junior Champion (over 3 days)1. Ryan Chambers - Newport 183 points
2. Brian Gannon - Westport 180 points
Under 25 Team of 2Thomas Kelly - Westport
Conor Tiernan - Westport
Team of Four Champions1. Richard Lowe -England
Frank Collier -England
Gary Jones - Wales
Wynne Parry - Wales

2. Tommy Dunn - England
Tony Clissett - England
Alan Suddick - England
John Dunn

3. David Ferson - Westport
Ray Bourke - Westport
Richie Cryan - Westport
Padraic Ettrick - Westport
Team of Two (over 2 days Friday & Saturday)1. Darragh Connolly/ Dave Williamson - Ireland/England
2. Stan parry/Alan - Wales
3. Andy Pamley/Wyn Lloyd - England/Wales
Daily Prizes:
1. Tony Clissett - England 227 points
2. Tommy Dunn - England 222 points
3. Padraic Ketterick - Westport 183 points

Daily Prizes:
1. Darragh Connolly - Westport 129 points
2. Ray Bourke - Westport 120 points
3. Gary Jones - Wales 108 points
Daily Prizes:
1. Ian Moore - England 102 points
2. Alan Suddick - England - 81 points
3. Wynne Parry - Wales
Individual Fish Awards:Huss - Tom McDermott
Ray - Tom Moran
Spotted Ray - Padraic Ketterick
Conger - Paul Ruddy
Gurnard - Jim Pressley
Tub Gurnard - John Dunn
Best Local PairsDamien Gannon - Westport
Gerry Boiling - Westport
Best OversGC. V. McCarthy - England
Arthur Brown bridge - England
Champion BoatmanDarragh McGee/ Martin (Whitewater 2)